A free service for scientific peer review and publishing

much ado about noting

The Reviewer Prize 2017

Peerage of Science
08 Dec 2017

The Winner of the 2017 Peerage of Science Reviewer Prize is Dr. Martin Johnsson.

Martin registered as a Peer just a year ago, in December 2016 – but the year-long evaluation period for The Reviewer Prize had began already in August. In other words, Martin gave the old Peers over three-month head start before storming to the scene with consistently excellent reviews on all things involving genetics and heredity.

His seven peer reviews were judged 23 times by his Peers, averaging a Peerage Essay Quality Score of 4.2 / 5. The Reviewer Prize is awarded based on this statistic, squared and multiplied by the number of Essays contributed.

Martin is currently a post-doctoral researcher at The Roslin Institute at University of Edinburgh, UK, in collaboration with the Department of Animal Breeding and Genetics at Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden.

The Reviewer Prize is first and foremost an academic recognition given by the Peer community, but it also includes a sum of 1000€ in appreciation for high-quality contribution to peer reviewing.

We also congratulate the runners-up with Honourable Mentions in this year's Reviewer Prize:

Gabriel Massaine Moulatlet, currently preparing for his PhD thesis defence tomorrow, at the Amazon Research Team at University of Turku, Finland

Dr. Charlotte Récapet, currently an Assistant Professor at ECOBIOP unit at The University of Pau and Pays de l'Adour, France

Peerage of Science warmly thanks all Peers who contributed reviews and participated in judging colleagues' reviewing work, for yet another year. Better peer review, and meaningful academic recognition such as this Reviewer Prize, is possible only thanks to all of You.

About The Reviewer Prize:

The Reviewer Prize is given every year to the best peer reviewer in Peerage of Science. The winner is determined by taking the weighted average of PEQ scores accumulated in Peerage of Science during the preceding year (weighted by the number of evaluations by peers, so reviews evaluated by more peers influence the average more), squared (to emphasize quality over quantity), and multiplying that by the number of reviews done (i.e. each review engagement contributes to the prize determination, even where the review is the only one for that manuscript and thus not scored itself).

The evaluations of review quality in Peerage of Science are almost always double-blind (with the exception of processes designated Onymous by authors). Awarding of this prize is therefore independent of academic rank and prestige, nationality, institutional affiliation, gender, or other personal characteristics.

The Reviewer Prize was first awarded in 2012. This year Peerage of Science is thus awarding the 6th Annual Reviewer Prize, building a tradition of recognition and appreciation for academic excellence in peer reviewing.

About Peerage of Science:

Peerage of Science is an independent scientific peer review service, which has introduced several innovative practices to the academic publishing process. Among the core solutions are Open Engagement of peer reviewers by their own choice, Cross-Evaluation of peer reviews by other peers, and Concurrent Consideration of a single peer review process by participating journals. Peerage of Science is free for scientists, and offers compelling new solutions to academic publishers and other organizations that need high-quality peer review for their operations. At the writing of this, Peerage of Science is collaborating with 69 scientific journals.

« | »

peerage of science Facebook peerage of science twitter peerage of science twitter